Freedom Road Socialist Organization

[The following statement is reprinted from the International Communist Seminar in Brussels, 2-4 May, 2002. The list of organizations who signed it are at the end of the document. Click here to go to the seminar's website.]

Ver este documento en español
See this document in Spanish

Resolution calling for the immediate and unconditional withdrawal of US military forces from the Philippines

International Communist Seminar

‘Economic Crises and Possibility of a Major World Crisis’ Brussels, 2-4 May 2002


We condemn the escalating US military intervention in the Philippines. The deployment of close to 4,000 US trooops in the Philippines is a gross violation of Philippine national sovereignty and territorial integrity. Under the guise of carrying out joint war exercises called Balikatan (Shoulder to Shoulder) to help the Philippine reactionary armed forces defeat the Abu Sayyaf bandit gang, the US is reestablishing its military presence in the Philippines to threaten the revolutionary forces and people, to control the oil, gas and other natural resources and to dominate the whole Southeast Asian region.

The Macapagal-Arroyo regime must also be condemned for its puppetry to US imperialism in subserviently allowing the US troops to enter the country in violation even of its own constitution.

It should be exposed to the international community that the Abu Sayyaf is the creation of the CIA and its assets in the Philippine military. It is only a tiny force of less than 100.

This military intervention by the US in the Philippines bears the grave danger of becoming another US war of aggression.

We issue this call for the immediate and unconditional withdrawal of US troops from the Philippines in the interest of peace in the Southeast Asian region and consistent with the basic principle that Southeast Asia should be for the peoples in the region;

We express our firm solidarity with the Filipino people as they launch intensifying protests against the presence of the US troops.


  1. Anticapitalist National Assembly, Italy
  2. Anti-Imperialist Revolutionary Forum, Nepal
  3. Association of Refugees from Latin America and the Carribean (ARLAC), Belgium
  4. Cercle Henri Barbusse, France
  5. Chad Action for Unity and Socialism (ACTUS)
  6. Colonel Taher Sangsad, Bangladesh
  7. Comité d’initiative pour la formation du Parti communiste, Haiti (COIFOPCHA)
  8. Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) – Janashakti
  9. Communist Party of the Peoples of Spain (PCPE)
  10. Communist Party of the Philippines
  11. Communist Workers and Peasants Party, Pakistan
  12. Communists in Struggle, France
  13. Freedom Road Socialist Organisation, USA
  14. Karl Marx Society, Hungary
  15. Communist Party (Marxist-Leninist (revolutionaries)) (KPML(r)), Sweden
  16. Lalkar, United Kingdom
  17. Nepalese People’s Progressive Forum
  18. National Democratic Front of the Philippines
  19. Organisation of the Fedayin (Minority), Iran
  20. Partido Proletario del Perú
  21. Ray O. Light Group, USA
  22. Revolutionary People’s Liberation Front (DHKC), Turkey
  23. Stalin Society, United Kingdom
  24. Workers’ Communist Party (AKP), Norway
  25. Workers’ Party of Belgium
  26. Partido de la Liberación, Argentina
  27. Jatio Shromik Jote (National Trade Union Federation), Bangladesh
  28. Brazilian Center for Solidarity with the Poor (CEBRASPO), Brazil

(list of 26th June 2002)

To sign this resolution, send a message to