Freedom Road Socialist Organization

[The following statement is reprinted from the International Communist Seminar in Brussels, 2-4 May, 2000. The list of organizations who signed it are at the end of the document.]

Resolution for Solidarity with persecuted Antifascists
of the German Democratic Republic

submitted by the delegation of ‘Rotfuchs’, Germany

International Communist Seminar, Brussels, 2 – 4 May 2000

After the annexation of the German Democratic Republic by the German Federal Republic, preliminary hearings and criminal law suits have been instituted against tens of thousands of GDR citizens in virtue of their political work in the GDR.

This policy of prosecution is the expression of the revenge of the GFR for the fact that the socialist GDR during 40 years had been removed from its imperialist influence.

These legal proceedings concern politicians, State officers, military officers, jurists, physicians, teachers and sportsmen.

They have been convicted, against the international law and the GFR constitution, partially to many years' prison sentences and have been confined.

Among them there are, besides a lot of others, the last Secretary General of the Central Committee of the Socialist Unity Party of Germany and chairman of the State Council Egon Krenz, the former Defence Minister Heinz Keßler, the generals Baumgarten, Goldbach, Handke, Ludwig and others.

Among the persecuted are numerous jurists of the GDR, one of them being the 82 years old former judge Mrs. Irmgard Jendretzky, who has been convicted to three and a half years of prison sentence on grounds of supposed breaking of legal rule. She had been charged with having assisted to the conviction of heavily charged fascist war criminals.

We, participants of the Brussels International Communist Seminar of 2 – 4 May 2000 against imperialism and fascism raise our protest against the political criminal persecution of GDR anti-fascists by the German Federal Republic.

We demand

The criminalised anti-fascists of the GDR enjoy our international solidarity.

Solidarity messages are to be addressed to the
Arbeitsausschuss des Solidaritätskomitees für die politischen Verfolgten in Deutschland
c/o Kurt Andrä
Parkstrasse 89 E
Tel. / Fax +49-30-927.99.011


1.      Belgium, Workers’ Party of Belgium (PTB)

2.      Brazil, Communist Revolutionary Nucleus (NCR)

3.      Cameroon, Movement of Independent Democrats

4.      Chad, Chadian Action for Unity and Socialism (ACTUS)

5.      Czech Republic, Communist Youth Union

6.      Colombia, Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia – People’s Army (FARC-EP)

7.      Democratic Republic of Congo, Patriotic Front

8.      Democratic Republic of Congo, People’s Power Committees (CPP),

9.      Denmark, Marxist-Leninist Danish Communist Party (DKP ML)

10. Dominican Republic, Marxist-Leninist Communist Party of the Dominican Republic

11. France, Anti-Imperialist Front

12. France, Cercle Henri Barbusse

13. France, Communist Coordination

14. France, Information Bulletin “Nouvelles d’URSS”

15. Germany, Communist Party of Germany (KPD)

16. Great Britain, Lalkar Magazine

17. Haiti, Confédération ouvrière des Travailleurs haïtiens (KOTA)

18. India, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) New Democracy

19. Indonesia, People’s Democratic Party (PRD)

20.   Italy, Circolo Lenin

21. Mali, African Solidarity for Democracy and Independence (SADI)

22. Mexico, Broad Front for the Construction of a National Liberation Movement (FAC-MLN)

23. Nepal Communist Party (Mashal)

24. Netherlands, New Communist Party of the Netherlands (NCPN)

25. Poland, League of Polish Communists “Proletariat”

26. Russia, All-Union Communist Party of Bolsheviks

27. Russia, Russian Communist Workers’ Party

28. Sudan, Communist Party of the Sudan

29. Sweden, Marxist-Leninist Communist Party (revolutionary) (KPML(r))

30. Switzerland, Communist Organization Switzerland (KOS)

31. Turkey, Revolutionary People’s Liberation Front (DHKC)

32. Ukraine, Union of Communists of Ukraine

33. USA, Freedom Road Socialist Organization

34. USA, Workers’ World Party

(List of 4 May 2000)